Export keyframes to PNG seems to have little value.

Ascorbius

Hi,

I've been using Spriter now for a couple of months, I've worked out a set of animations for a game I'm working on which I'm happy with and I wish to implement them into my game - however I've run into a little roadblock in my pipieline.

The problem is twofold:

A: I'm using MOAI and the plugin being developed at the moment (in the developers' own time and I appreciate that) doesn't support bones or mirroring (by my initial inspection) - So unless I want to reinvent the wheel (which I really don't) I will patiently wait before I use the skeletal animation possibilities (which drew me to spriter) - (I have written a skeletal animation system previously in another engine so I appreciate how much work goes into it. )

B: The export to png feature only exports the absolute keyframes and not interpolated frame renders over time as I initially thought.

Point A is something I am willing to devote a considerable amount of patience to, given that the person developing the Moai plugin is doing so of their own volition and thus far, unpaid by yours truly.

Point B befuddles me though.. Given that Spriter has the ability to create the most wonderfully smooth animations over a time line would anyone only wish to export only the key frames?

I tested this tonight, I created an animation of a single image rotating by 179 degrees over 1000ms, there were 2 keyframes - the initial and the final. Export to png yielded only 2 images. Why is this useful?

Surely I would want 24 images ( or more, based on some setting. )

This suggests that animators must either work with 24 exact keyframes for their walk/run cycles and move their bones to exactly where they need to be - only on those key frames - negating the usefulness of keyframes in the first place, or maybe the export serves some other purpose which I am not yet aware of.